EEUM has 37 scientists among the most cited in the world

The University of Minho has 65 scientists in the group of the 2% most cited in the world over the last year, according to a study by Stanford University (USA) and the Elsevier publishing group, of which 37 are from the School of Engineering.

The list, called “World’s Top 2% Scientists 2023”, includes 210,000 scientists, 790 of whom are linked to institutions in Portugal. UMinho appears with 16 units represented and eight more researchers than in 2022, and its first scientist on the global list is Fernando Pacheco-Torgal (6809th place), Principal Researcher at CTAC – Centre for Territory, Environment and Construction, at UMinho’s School of Engineering.

The document presents the best researchers on the planet in 22 areas and 174 disciplines, taking into account their index, the volume of publications and the citations of their work, according to data from the Scopus database up to September 2023. This annual list was created in 2019 with the aim of creating a public repository on the impact and influence of researchers on the progress of scientific knowledge and to combat abuses of self-citation.

The 37 scientists from the School of Engineering belong to the following research centres:

CEB – Centre of Biological Engineering (14): António Vicente, Artur Cavaco-Paulo, Eduardo Gudiña, Joana Azeredo, José António Teixeira, Lígia Rodrigues, Lucília Domingues, Madalena Alves, Mariana Henriques, Miguel Gama, Nuno Cerca, Ricardo Pereira, Russell Paterson and Sónia Silva

Centro Algoritmi (7): João Luís Afonso, João Varajão, Joaquín Torres-Sospedra, Leonilde Varela, Paulo Cortez, Sandro Pinto and Vítor Monteiro

CMEMS – Centre for Microelectromechanical Systems (7): Bruno Henriques, Fatih Toptan, Flávio Bartolomeu, Filipe Samuel Silva, Hélder Puga, Júlio Souza, Paulo Flores

ISISE – Institute for Sustainability and Innovation in Structural Engineering (4): Joaquim Barros, José Sena-Cruz, Mayank Mishra, Paulo Lourenço

2C2T – Centre for Textile Science and Technology (3): Andrea Zille, Helena Felgueiras, Raul Fangueiro

CTAC – Centre for Territory, Environment and Construction (1): Fernando Pacheco-Torgal

IPC – Institute for Polymers and Composites (1): Loic Hilliou


The School of Engineering congratulates all these researchers on this nomination.